Tech Tip Tuesday: Helping Student Teachers

 

by Mike Kang, Downingtown Middle School Science Teacher

Sometimes I’ve struggled with the best way to give student teachers access to our tech-based school environment. First, it was Moodle. Now it’s Schoology. With an incoming student teacher, how do I deal with giving her access to my courses without compromising my digital privacy?

People outside our district cannot currently create accounts within the schoology.dasd.org domain for security reasons. However, Schoology is available outside of DASD using schoology.com. So, I can have my student teacher make her own Schoology teacher account, create her own Schoology course and then share it with me. She can create assignments, articles, discussion forums, quizzes and I can quickly pull them onto my page. With her Schoology account, I can even make her an administrator in my course if it’s appropriate.

For our elementary teachers, a colleague suggested student teachers can make a google site and then the teacher can link to it.

Problem solved! An almost seamless integration for the student teacher into the digital class. Now … onto helping her deal with classroom management.

Leave a Reply

