What Does Kale Have To Do With AppSmashing?

Kale by photofarmer, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License   by  photofarmer 

by Kristie Burk

I like kale, but after making salads and kale chips, I’m out of ideas. Thankfully, my Community-Supported Agriculture Following Biodynamic and Organic Practices at Camphill Village Kimberton Hills has a private group on Facebook that shares recipes and ideas for using the produce we receive every week. I encourage you, if you haven’t already done so, to find a learning network or a group of people with similar interests that share ideas.

The Internet has made it easier than ever to connect with people all over the world. To help me in my job, for example, I belong to a blended learning professional learning network (PLN) on Schoology.

In my blended learning group, Señor McCright from Des Moines, Iowa recently shared a great AppSmashing activity to get his elementary students more engaged in his Spanish class.  Appsmashing is when content is created in one app, enhanced in another app, transferred and transformed in another app and so on.

Read about his AppSmashing activity here.

You can find your own public groups to join on Schoology, Facebook, or Twitter. My favorite Twitter PLNs can be found using #edchat, #edtechchat, and #satchatwc (because I’m never up in time for #satchat!).  Here is a great list of Educational Twitter chats that I have bookmarked on my iPhone. I once waited for an oil change and ended up swapping ideas with an educator in Australia on a Twitter chat.  You just never know.

If I hadn’t belonged to these groups, I probably never would have learned about this appsmashing project or found a great recipe for baked kale mac-and-cheese!

Read about Señor McCright’s appsmashing project and then let us know….

Do you do any appsmashing? Share your ideas!

Do you have a PLN that you’d like to encourage others to join? Send us the contact information.

Do you like kale? (Just kidding.)

Post your thoughts below!

2 comments

  1. I LOVE KALE!!!

    I make kale in a pan with olive oil & fresh garlic. Then I either put it over grilled chicken with no carbs or over pasta and/rice. It’s such a power food. I also love the kale salad at Giant. It has blueberries, carrots, walnuts, onions, etc with raspberry dressing. You have to try it. It’s my “go to” salad & they have it ALL YEAR LONG now b/c it’s so popular.

    Like

Leave a Reply

